Tags

, , , ,

Tea Glasses

Being from the south, there were a few things I had to adjust to when I moved on to city life. Winter was a hard one, and missing Publix was pretty brutal, as well. The worst one of all, however, was the non-existence of sweet tea at restaurants. Come on, people, we are still below the Mason-Dixon! And no, adding sugar to the already chilled tea is NOT the same. Where are your manners?

It’s a good thing my mama raised me right and taught me how to fry, sew (although I’ll never be the cook or the seamstress she is!) and make my own sweet tea. And, since summer’s abrewin’, I thought I’d share the recipe with y’all.

Tea BagsFirst, add your tea bags to a small boiler of water and turn the burner to High. I used three tea bags because I accidentally bought the small ones.

Brewing TeaAfter a few minutes, the tea will start to make its appearance.

Brewing TeaThen, the tea will start to bubble a little and get foamy on top. This means you’re almost done. As soon as the tea begins to show signs of bowling, turn off the burner. DO NOT let it boil or you’ll break the bags!

SweetnessAllow the tea to steep for as long as you can stand it, but don’t let it get cool. In the meantime, add your sugar. I like to use a little over 1 cup per gallon. You can sweeten to taste, but if you use less, you can’t call it 5th Sunday tea, which gets its name (according to Mama) from being so sweet, it’s as if it’s been ready for a month of Sundays and then some!

Next, add the warm, steeped tea to the pitcher with the sugar and stir. Fill the pitcher the rest of the way with cold water and continue stirring. Use a frilly glass for summer sipping, and there you have it!

5th Sunday Tea

INGREDIENTS:
2 Large Iced Tea Bags (or 3 small ones)
1 & 1/4 Cup of Sugar per Gallon to taste (but this is 5th Sunday tea, so be generous)
Cold Water

